Gmail and Google will now share a single profile picture

Gmail and Google will now share a single profile picture Google has started combining G Suite users’ Gmail photos with their Google account profile photos. One image will be shown across all Google apps 

Gmail and Google will now share a single profile picture

Earlier your Gmail and Google Account profile images could be set independently of each other. Most people might have not been aware of this distinction, and Google is now combining them.

As per the recent statement of the company, Google is combining the Gmail photo with the Google account profile photo for G Suite users.

Now, when you go to change this setting in Gmail, you’ll be directed to the “About me” section of your Google profile settings to set your profile picture.

If you currently have two different images on your Gmail and Google accounts, you’ll be asked to choose one or to upload a new picture when you go to your About me settings. 

How this change will be helpful for users?

Gmail and Google will now share a single profile picture presently, profile pictures set in Gmail are only displayed in Gmail. This means a profile picture in Gmail may be different than the Google account profile photo, which can make it difficult to know which picture will be displayed where.

This change simplifies things by allowing you to set a single profile picture in one place and then displaying that single photo across all Google apps.

Gmail and Google will now share a single profile picture

How to get started?

Gmail and Google will now share a single profile picture

# Admins: No action required. 

# End users: When you visit Settings > General > My Picture in Gmail on the web, you’ll be directed to change your picture in the “About me” section of your Google profile settings.

# If your Gmail and profile photos are currently different, and you have permission to edit your photo, you’ll see a pop-up when you visit your ‘About me’ settings which will prompt you to select one of the images or choose an entirely new photo.

# This setting gives Admins who have disabled photo editability in their domain greater control, as users can no longer change their Gmail picture independently of their Google profile picture. 

Notably

Users who do not visit their “About me” settings will not be prompted to select a single profile picture and will continue to have different profile pictures. Also, this feature will be ON by default.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 1
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 1
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *