How facebook new clear history feature allows users to clear browsing history?

Facebook will soon launch a new privacy control feature called clear history that allows users to clear their browsing history from the site and prevent it from keeping tabs on link clicks going forward.

Facebook clear history feature

How facebook new clear history feature allows users to clear browsing history?

What websites you’ve clicked on and what apps you’ve interacted with, by using Facebook clear history feature, users will get a better control over their data. You’ll be able to see information about the apps and websites you’ve interacted with, and you’ll be able to clear this information from your account. You’ll even be able to turn off having this information stored in your account.

One of the most important data sets the company has related to your browsing history – the list of websites and apps that you visit even when you are not on Facebook. Means now you’ll also be able to see which apps and websites are sending data to Facebook. This might include data like information related to Like button, Facebook Analytics, etc.

Facebook collects a lot of data about you whether you use the service or not. The company collects this browsing data for a number of reasons and app developers that use Facebook’s software plugins, which send browsing data back to Facebook but the most valuable reason is to target users with ads. For example, if you are looking at a pair of shoes at Amazon, but don’t buy them, you might see an ad for those same shoes later on Facebook.

The issue raised after a lot of people have asked recently regarding about the information they watch from websites and apps that use Facebook’s ads and analytics tools. But soon in your web browser, you have a simple way to clear your cookies and history. The idea is a lot of sites need cookies to work, but you should still be able to flush your history whenever you want.

Now you could tell Facebook to stop collecting your browsing history

# There hasn’t ever been a way to stop Facebook from collecting this data, but now users can opt out of this data collection for the first time.

# In the new ‘clear history’ feature users can delete their browsing data from Facebook‘s servers, or ask the company not to collect it to begin with.

# Your browsing data could still be retained in an anonymous aggregated set for companies that use Facebook for analytics purposes, but it wouldn’t be tied to your profile or used for targeting.

# If you don’t have a Facebook account, you can’t opt out of this data collection.

# If you choose to simply delete the data instead of opting out entirely, it won’t be deleted instantaneously.

# Facebook will still retain that information for a short time after you instruct the company to delete it.

# But it will be a much shorter amount of time than the company currently holds onto that data, which is 90 days.

Notably

With the new clear history feature, Facebook will work with privacy advocates, academics, policymakers and regulators to get their input on the new approach of clear history feature and for these, the company will take a few months to build the update.

  • 4
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 4
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *