How to delete a sent message in Facebook Messenger?

How to delete a sent message in Facebook Messenger? Whether you sent a message to the wrong person or used the wrong form of “You’re”, you just need to make that message go away.

Sometimes we send a message and realize that we have sent it by mistake and do not want them to read it and start looking for a way to delete it.WhatsApp already has this feature that allows users to delete a sent message.

Thankfully, when it comes to Facebook Messenger, now you can!

How to delete a sent message in Facebook Messenger?

How to delete a sent message in Facebook Messenger? Now, the Social media network giant Facebook has started rolling out the similar feature to its Messenger app. The new feature enables users to delete a sent message they might have sent by mistake just like on WhatsApp. The unsend feature will be available for both iOS and Android version of the app. 

Currently, the update is rolling out in a phased manner and will be available to all very soon. In the first phase countries that will receive the feature includes Colombia, Bolivia, Poland, and Lithuania. 

How to delete a sent message in Facebook Messenger?

Now, if you want to delete a sent message on Facebook, here’s our how-to guide for you. However, as the update is rolling out in a phased manner you might have to wait till you receive it

Step by step guidance for How to delete a sent message in Facebook Messenger?

# Open Messenger app on your smartphone.

# Head to the chat windows from which you want to delete the message. 

# Select the message and press and hold it for a while. 

# Once selected, tap on ‘Remove’ option. 

# After this, it will prompt you with the options – Delete for Everyone and Delete for you.

# Select the option ‘Delete for Everyone’ followed by the delete option to delete the message 

What is the time period to delete messages in Facebook messenger?

If you want to delete a sent message on Facebook, you have to do it within 10 minutes. Means users will have a 10-minute window after sending a message to delete it. After that, the option to ‘delete a message for everyone’ won’t be available.

To curb the cyberbullying

Facebook has a very good reason for this time limit – cyberbullying. While this is faster than the 60-minute window WhatsApp allows. With the rise of cyberbullying, kids and teens are instructed never to delete a copy of threatening messages, it’s important to have them on record. By giving the unsend feature a short time period, Facebook hopes to limit the ability for abusers to delete the evidence.

According to Stan Chudnovsky, Facebook’s head of Messenger, the 10-minute time period is designed for ethical message deletion: “We looked at how the existing delete functionality works. It turns out that when people are deleting messages because it’s a mistake or they sent something they didn’t want to send, it’s under a minute. We decided to extend it to 10, but decided we didn’t need to do more.”

How to report a deleted Facebook offensive message?

If you do receive a derogatory message, and someone deletes it with that 10 minute time period, there are still options.

As Chudnovsky shares, “We need to make sure we don’t open up any new venues for bullying. We need to make sure people aren’t sending you bad messages and then removing them because if you report them and the messages aren’t there we can’t do anything.”

Facebook’s community guidelines do not allow any type of hate speech, there are specific policies around both bullying and harassment.

To ensure these policies can be enforced, and to protect users, Facebook will keep a private copy of all messages for a short time period after they have been deleted.

To report the deletion of an abusive message:

# Tap on the name of the person you wish to report.

# On the menu that appears, scroll to the “Something’s Wrong” option.

# Select the harassment category.

Notably

If you don’t see the “Remove” button in your version of Facebook messenger, keep waiting, it’s coming!

As of Nov. 14, Facebook Messenger’s unsend feature has been officially launched in Poland, Columbia, Bolivia, and Lithuania. There is no official date when the feature will be released globally, although sources say “as soon as possible.”

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *