How to stop WhatsApp from sharing your data with Facebook?

WhatsApp has always been defensive about the data shared by them with Facebook. They have always maintained that “every message is end-to-end encrypted” and said that they use ‘very little data’ with Facebook. However, if you don’t want to share your account related information with Facebook you can uncheck the box or toggle the control.

Stop sharing WhatsApp data with Facebook

Recently, post revealing about Facebook and Cambridge Analytica data leak issue, it has become an eye opener for the users. Users who were earlier unaware are now getting a bit more attentive that how vulnerable their personal information was. There is a growing awareness in Facebook users that about how much and what kind of data is being shared online.

How to stop WhatsApp from sharing your data with Facebook?

WhatsApp changed some Privacy policy in the latest WhatsApp version and now WhatsApp will share your account information with Facebook to improve your Facebook ads and product experiences.

Yet it will not share your chats and mobile number. As soon as you will update your WhatsApp latest version, it will ask you to AGREE with the new Privacy policy and terms and conditions. After you will AGREE with terms and conditions, it will start sharing your data or account related information with Facebook.

However, if you don’t want to share your account related information with Facebook you can uncheck the box or toggle the control then you could disallow WhatsApp from sharing your information on Facebook.

There are two ways you can opt out of the data-sharing

The 1st step:

# This step will be fit for when you install the app for the first time.

# During the installation of the app, you will get an option where you will be asked to ‘Agree’ with the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

# After that you need to tap on ‘read more’.

# Next, you will need to find the option which needs to be unchecked if you do not want to share your WhatsApp data with Facebook.

# Once you do that, your account will be safe and your personal information will not be shared further with Facebook.

 The 2nd step:

Even after you have accepted WhatsApp’s updated Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, you can still opt out of it but within 30 days. Now if you want to completely disable the app share data with Facebook, then you can go with the below mentioned steps,

# Open WhatsApp on your smartphone.

# Go to Settings. Android users will find it from the top right corner of the app where you will see three vertical dots. iOS users will find it in the bottom right-hand of the app.

# Once you are in the account section you will need to tap on Account.

# The last option will be able to see is where you need to tap the check mark to the right of Share my account info.

# To disable the feature, tap Don’t Share.

Notably

It is to be noted as per the statement of the company that WhatsApp will still share its vital data with Facebook with the intention of other purposes such as improving infrastructure and delivery systems, understanding how their services are used, securing systems, and fighting spam, abuse, or infringement activities.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 2
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 2
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *