WhatsApp Delete for Everyone feature ineffective in case if someone quotes your message before you delete it.
If someone has quoted your message on WhatsApp before you delete it, you will still be able to see that message rendering the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature ineffective.
Last year, WhatsApp rolled out “Delete for Everyone” feature to allow its over one billion user base to revoke messages in case they sent those to a wrong person or a group. Users can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending.
But this feature now has been discovered with its major flaws which really makes you bit upset. As per the report, this isn’t a bug but instead is a part of WhatsApp’s feature. Also, there is no mention of how the feature works in cases of quotes in the WhatsApp’s FAQ.
Why WhatsApp Delete for Everyone feature ineffective?
WhatsApp allows users to delete messages sent by mistake within seven minutes of sending it. You can do so by tapping on the drop-down icon of the message and choosing “Delete for everyone”.
However, WhatsApp Delete for Everyone feature ineffective means it comes with a major flaw, that if within these seven minutes, that message is quoted then the original message will successfully disappear but the deleted text continues to show in the recipient’s quote. Here, the quote means replying to a particular message.
For example, if you reply to a particular message before the person deletes it, the quoted message will still appear on the chat. While you can still delete the original message, the quoted message prevails.
Which drawback has found in earlier feature?
As per the Spanish tech blog AndroidJefe it was possible to recover deleted messages from the Android notification history. “Relying on third-party apps, users could browse the notification log to read purged texts”. The Independent later pointed out that this approach could only recover deleted messages that were read or interacted with.
WhatsApp is trying to make worthful for the users with its upcoming new features but users must be cautious with its usage until the feature has been verified with its drawbacks.